Archive of ‘Uncategorized’ category

Federal Trade Commission’s Suggestions to Secure Data

In the most release of Circuits, Pierre Grosdidier and Cassidy Daniels share a thorough article on the Federal Trade Commissions guidelines. Their research and reference to supporting materials sheds light on the FTC guidelines. Just a small sampling of suggestions the FTC’s guidelines offer:

  •  Do not collect unneeded information.
  •  Restrict access to data.
  •  Require secure passwords. “Qwerty” and “121212” are no better than having no password at all.
  • Suspend or disable users after a certain number of unsuccessful login attempts.
  • Store and transmit sensitive information securely. Train personnel and use accepted encryption methods—no need to reinvent the wheel.
  • Segment networks and monitor who is trying to get in and out.
  • Secure remote network access.

Read the article by Pierre and Cassidy in its entirety here.

Become a Member


Only members of the State Bar of Texas Computer and Technology Section have access to the Section’s new iPhone and Android apps.

Please follow these instructions to join the Computer & Technology Section.

If you see “Computer and Technology”, congratulations, you’re already a member.

If not, click the “Purchase Sections” button and follow the instructions to add the Computer and Technology Section.  Please note:  It may take several days for the State Bar to process your section membership and update our system.

You can also complete this form and mail or fax it in.

2013-2014 Officers

Current Officers

  • Chair – Antony Ng
  • Chair-Elect – Joseph Jacobson
  • Treasurer – Eric Griffin
  • Secretary – Shannon Warren
  • Immediate Past Chair – Jason Smith


2013-2014 Council Members

Terms Expiring 2014

  • Craig Ball – Travis County
  • Michael Curran – Travis County
  • Ed Chin – Dallas County

Terms Expiring 2015

  • Sammy Ford IV – Harris County
  • Daniel Lim – Harris County
  • Laura Leonetti – Harris County (NEW)

Terms Expiring 2016 (NEW)

  • John Browning – Dallas (NEW)
  • Reginald Hirsch – Colleyville (NEW)
  • E.X. Martin – Dallas (NEW)


1 2 3 5

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons